Senate Chairman Elections: PML-N loses hopes

Senate took a U-turn, turning the hopes of PML-N in vain to appoint their candidates in Senate.  Sadiq Sanjrani, an opposition-supported candidate from Balochistan, took the lead and appointed as Senate Chairman today on Monday, 12th March 2018. Raja Zafarul Haq from (Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz) PML-N was left behind with the margin of 11 votes

Saleem Mandviwala a candidate from Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) is appointed as deputy chairman of the Upper House by beating Usman Khan Kakar a member from Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, he was also backed by PML-N.

The newly appointed Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani secured 57 votes though Sanjrani was an independent candidate he was backed by (Pakistan People’s Party) PPP, (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) PTI, and by the (Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan) MQM-P.

Sadiq Sanjrani also had the support of some elected independent Senate candidates from (Federally Administered Tribal Areas) FATA.

Saleem Mandviwala the elected deputy chairman of the Upper House was previously the chairman of the senate standing committee on Finance, Revenue Economic Affairs and Privatization.  He had also served as the Federal Finance Minister, Minister of State for Finance Division, and President of the Board of Investment.